A Place of Safety
I expect simple behaviours here. Friendship, and love.
Any advice should be from the perspective of the person asking, not the person giving!
We have had to make new membership moderated to combat the huge number of spammers who register

You are here: Home > Forum > A Place of Safety > General Talk > Coming out? What about growing up!
Coming out? What about growing up!  [message #63675] Thu, 09 September 2010 05:23 Go to next message
saben is currently offline  saben

On fire!

That one feels harder to me! Sure it's not the teenage angst I went through over sexuality, but the down periods over being gay for me were intense and short-lived. Trying to deal with "adult life" has kept me in a low-state for years...

I'm still studying... At 25, having been doing my 3 year course for 6 years. It sucks. Hard. But I should be finished within about 9 months now. It's given me more motivation now I have an end in sight. But I have terrible habits I can't seem to shake.

I'm still with Ryan and things are going well there, but despite both being adults we're not grown ups. We're both still acting like kids in a lot of ways. I don't know if the early to mid twenties was a hard transition for anyone else. But I just can't ever see myself as a successful adult- with a full-time job, (kids? if that's possible), relationship, mortgage, etc, etc. All while keeping a clean and orderly house and doing social things with friends. We're mostly independent, his dad shares a house with us, but we do our own meals, etc. We don't eat well, though and his dad has to do more than a fair share of the cleaning. Money is a constant stress- even though we're being supported to study it never feels like it's enough but neither of us is willing to put concerted effort into finding part-time work.