A Place of Safety
I expect simple behaviours here. Friendship, and love.
Any advice should be from the perspective of the person asking, not the person giving!
We have had to make new membership moderated to combat the huge number of spammers who register

You are here: Home > Forum > A Place of Safety > General Talk > Should we continue with writing challenges?
Should we continue with writing challenges?  [message #72573] Fri, 17 February 2017 11:11 Go to next message
timmy

Has no life at all

We are running a poll on the site home page to determine this

Writing Challenges

Should we continue with them? Please answer as an author (whether you have entered or not) or as a reader

I am a reader. Please continue with them
I am a reader. I have no opinion
I am a reader. Stop them
I am an author. Please continue with them
I am an author. I have no opinion
I am an author. Stop them

Current Results

[Updated on: Fri, 17 February 2017 11:12]

Author of Queer Me! Halfway Between Flying and Crying - the true story of life for a gay boy in the Swinging Sixties in a British all male Public School
Re: Should we continue with writing challenges?  [message #72575 is a reply to message #72573] Fri, 17 February 2017 16:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
William King is currently offline  William King

Toe is in the water

I've already voted that you should continue with them. But... there is always a but, maybe it's because I'm a little stupid or just careless, don't pay attention, but I wrote a short story for the current b&w photo competition, only to realise it didn't qualify because I'd used the photo just in passing - as inspiration.

So I would say - can you be less specific about the challenge - writing about all the boys in the photo in detail is a tall order. Other challenges have just used photos or prompts as general inspiration allowing a great deal of flexibility when it comes down to what you write.