A Place of Safety
I expect simple behaviours here. Friendship, and love.
Any advice should be from the perspective of the person asking, not the person giving!
We have had to make new membership moderated to combat the huge number of spammers who register

You are here: Home > Forum > A Place of Safety > General Talk > A question of faith ............
icon7.gif A question of faith ............  [message #15040] Sun, 21 September 2003 16:14 Go to next message
kevin is currently offline  kevin

On fire!

A few yeas ago I studied religion(s), maybe it was some twisted thoughts of hiding myself that way. Now I am not saying being a priest is twisted, just that my motives were as much about my own fears as anything else. So I studied.

I found that many faiths had basic things in common. Many of those commonalities have stuck with me to this day. But I also found some that told me that who I was, a gay kid, was wrong. Years later after I had decided that I would not align myself with any one particular faith (though I was brought up Catholic), and kept searching for truth in spirituality.

A couple years ago I found out that my cousin was a lesbian.My Uncle, (he lives kinda far away) is a devout Catholic and was having a hard time with that. On one of his trips to visit us I decided to try and help. I put him in touch with Bishop Gumbleton.

Now the Bishop is not gay himself, but he does have a gay brother. He told a story of his Mom at a party some years back. She was nearing the end of her life and she knew it. She was making an attempt to put her affairs in order. She pulled the Bishop aside at the party and with a somewhat shakey voice asked if Sam (not his real name) was going to heaven. The Bishop said he had "an instant answer" like it came from somewhere else. Without even thinking about it he said to his mother "God would never punish us for the way he made us".