A Place of Safety
I expect simple behaviours here. Friendship, and love.
Any advice should be from the perspective of the person asking, not the person giving!
We have had to make new membership moderated to combat the huge number of spammers who register

You are here: Home > Forum > A Place of Safety > General Talk > Something made me weep today
Something made me weep today  [message #15943] Sat, 04 October 2003 19:16 Go to next message
timmy

Has no life at all

I have just come home from installing my son in his room for his first term at university.

Prominent in the papers in his room, awaiting him like it awaited every fresham was a short note from the GLBT society, inviting him to an informal meeting. Orientation was not relevant. He was simply invited.

I had a sudden "If only that has existed when I was a student" moment. But that was in 1970, and then we had Gay Lib, so very different and militant to create todays semi-acceptance.

I am not going for one moment to doubt the hard road that today's teenagers have to follow. And I acknowledge freely that some free nations have very oppressive enclaves.

But, Oh to be a gay teen today instead of the 1960s. To feel at least half welcome..........

And I shed a silent sob.

Author of Queer Me! Halfway Between Flying and Crying - the true story of life for a gay boy in the Swinging Sixties in a British all male Public School
Huggs tight.....  [message #15944 is a reply to message #15943] Sat, 04 October 2003 20:18 Go to previous messageGo to next message
marc is currently offline  marc

Needs to get a life!

Kids today still have a far way to go before we all see total acceptance. There is no argument there.

But things are alot better now than they were in 1963.....

Things were done then that people today would scream to have stopped in the name of humanity....

Things were said so called "role models" that would land them in prison today.... Things that hurt to the very core of ones being....